Boiling Over

One word prompt: Dormant
Nathan Wallace adjusted the camera, lit a cigarette and smoothed his greasy hair. 
“Ladies and gentlemen, once again, thank you for watching the Wallace Report. You are the reason this webcast exists, and that is why it is so important for me to bring this to you, cutting through the lies of the government and corporate America. Now, we have a caller, Jim, who used to work at Thompson Labs, where today’s tragedy took place. Jim, are you there?”
“Yeah, hi Nate, great to talk to you.”

“Jim, tell us what happened to you at Thompson Labs as a result of the cogs.”

“Well Nate, it started with the janitor, a real nice guy named Sonny. He’d been there for like ten years, and then one day we come in and he’s gone.”

“Replaced with a cog?”

“Yeah, they replaced him with a robot. Pretty soon it’s the whole facilities staff, then next thing you know they’re tellin’ is that we’ve all been replaced!”

“How are you feeling today, with the news that the robots have rebelled against management?” Wallace tried to hide his excitement, but his voice trembled a bit.

“Ya know, I don’t feel bad for those managers that were killed, ya know, maybe for their families, but you tried to warn them, Nate.
“But what I wanna say is, we, I mean the guys who got fired and me, we’ve been mad a long time about those damn cogs, but now we’re pissed. It’s personal! They’re out running wild, but you know, we got guns and we’re ready to fight, an’ if anyone out there wants to join me in hunting these sonsabitches down, meet me and my buddies at city hall today at 3:00.”

“Thank you so much for your time, Jim. God bless.”

“God bless you, Nate. If we had more Americans like you I don’t think this woulda happened.”

Author: sonofbatboy

They said I wasn't real. Now I will have my revenge.

Leave a Reply

