A Feast for Three

In response to the daily prompt for the word “Edible:”

We sat around the fire pretty uncomfortable, looking at Bob and then at each other. Skeet finally said it. “Fellas, I don’t like it either,” he said, “but we did make a promise.”

We shifted in our seats for a moment before Joe replied. “Hell Skeet, people say lotsa things. We were drinkin’ a lot that night.

We looked at Bob. Then we looked at each other. 

“Well,” I said, “I mean supposing we did, how do you think we should do it?”

“This ain’t right,” Joe said.

Skeet looked at Bob, then me. “We got a fire. I got an axe. I suppose we just grill him up. Joe, you can gut ‘im.”

Joe pulled the knife out of his boot. “Holy Mary, mother of God, pray for us sinners…”

Author: sonofbatboy

They said I wasn't real. Now I will have my revenge.

Leave a Reply

