The State of Nature

I submitted a story to a zine recently that deals with something I have been thinking about lately regarding the Hobbesian state of nature. If I understand the argument correctly, before the creation of society human beings lived in an animalistic state of constant “warre” for resources (food, water, sex, shelter.) The advent of society brought hierarchy and a more arbitrary distribution of power, but it also allowed for a more peaceful and cooperative distribution of resources. Society also brought systems of loyalty beyond kinship (the band, the tribe,) which brought protection from competing groups of humans and the time to develop technology. However, it also paved the way to murder on a much larger scale in the form of modern war. (Compare Genesis to Exodus, for example.)

I gave myself the prompt some time ago to try and imagine what this state of nature would have looked like to someone living in that time. How would he view the world? What would be his concerns? How would the structure of his thoughts look compared to mine?

I’ll discuss this further once I know the fate of my little creation. Until then, I’d like to know what others think of the prompt. If nothing else it will get the imagination working.

Author: sonofbatboy

They said I wasn't real. Now I will have my revenge.

Leave a Reply

